Understanding DUI Penalties – Hiring a Lawyer for Your Drunk Driving Case

Have you or someone you know been arrested or charged with a DUI?  Please do not hesitate to call me at 201-598-5019 or email me directly at newjerseylawyernow@gmail.com for a free consultation. In New Jersey, a person is guilty of drunk driving if he/she operates a motor vehicle with a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or greater. BAC refers to the amount of alcohol in your blood. Although the law refers to a 0.08 percent BAC, you can be convicted of driving while under the influence of intoxicating liquor even when your BAC is below 0.08 percent. Consuming...

What Is New Jersey Superior Court’s Special Civil Part? (Understanding Special Civil, Landlord/Tenant and Small Claims Court)

If you are being sued in special civil court or are considering pursuing an action against another party in special civil court, please do not hesitate to call me at 201-598-5019 or email me directly at newjerseylawyernow@gmail.com for a free consultation. Special Civil is one of three sections of the Superior Court’s Special Civil Part. The other two sections are Landlord/Tenant and Small Claims. Special Civil is limited to cases in which the demand is $15,000 or less. If you believe you are entitled to recover more than $15,000, your case should be filed in the Law Division of the...

I’ve Been Indicted in New Jersey Criminal Court… What is an Indictment?

  Have  you or someone you know been arrested or charged with a crime?  Please do not hesitate to call me at 201-598-5019 or email me directly at newjerseylawyernow@gmail.com for a free consultation. In New Jersey law, an indictment is a is a formal accusation that a person has committed a criminal offense. It is officially drawn up by a prosecuting attorney and found and presented by a grand jury. The substance of an indictment is usually the same, regardless of the jurisdiction: it consists of a short and plain statement of the time, place and manner in which the...

I Was Injured on the Job, What are My New Jersey Workers’ Compensation Rights?

If you have been injured on the job and want to know your rights, please do not hesitate to call me at 201-598-5019 or email me directly at newjerseylawyernow@gmail.com for a free consultation. In New Jersey, if you have been injured while working, you are entitled to Worker’s Compensation rights and benefits. Workers’ Compensation is determined by a statute which sets out a method of providing benefits to an employee (of the employee’s dependent) who suffers a personal injury or death by accident or occupational disease while working.  This creates two categories for an injury which occurred on a job....

How Do I Get My Record Expunged in New Jersey?

What is an expungement and how can I get one? An expungement or an “expungement of record” is the “Process by which record of criminal conviction is destroyed or sealed from the state of Federal repository.” While expungement deals with an underlying criminal record, it is a civil action in which the subject is the petitioner or plaintiff asking a court to declare that the records be expunged. New Jersey statutes allow expungement of conviction of many indictable offenses, disorderly offenses offenses, municipal ordinances, and juvenile adjudications. The statutes disallow expungement for convictions if the applicant has been convicted of...

Understanding Your Car Insurance – New Jersey Verbal Threshold Law/Limitation on Lawsuit Option

So… what’s the deal with the verbal threshold? In New Jersey there are countless companies offering automobile insurance and countless types of automobile insurance plans those companies offer. Quite possibly the most important option to be aware of is called the Verbal or Limitation on Lawsuit Threshold option. Choosing this type of coverage drastically limits your ability to bring a lawsuit for injuries sustained in a New Jersey automobile accident. You should not choose this option if you want to maintain your rights to sue for your injuries. If you want to maintain your full rights to sue, you need...

What is This “0 Point” Ticket I Hear About for “Unsafe Driving?”

So, you are going to a  New Jersey Municipal Court and you are trying to get 0 points for unsafe driving. Each court has its own procedures, but it doesn’t matter if you are in a Bergen County Municipal Court or in a Cape May Municipal Court… the laws are the same. You may wind up pleading guilty to a ticket that costs around $400.00 – and have no idea what happened? If you are a lawyer going to traffic court or representing yourself you best understand this basic Municipal Court violation. Most likely you are referring to a plea...