New Jersey Stop Sign and Yield Sign Laws: How to Avoid Points on Your License

New Jersey Stop Sign and Yield Sign Laws: How to Avoid Points on Your License

Most New Jersey drivers are aware that failure to come to a complete stop at a stop sign can lead to a ticket being issued, but did you know that this violation can also lead to points on your license? Similarly, points can be assigned to your license if you do not observe the rules of a yield sign correctly. If you have found yourself facing penalties from failure to observe a stop sign or yield sign, please call me, Corey Morano, Esq. right away at 201-598-5019 or send me an email at coreymorano@gmail.com.   Receiving points on a license...

Understanding New Jersey Premises Liability

Understanding New Jersey Premises Liability

If you or someone you know was injured on another person’s property you may have a premises liability claim. If you are interested in bringing a premises liability claim consult call the Morano Law Firm at 201-598-5019 or email us at newjerseylawyernow@gmail.com. Premises Liability Individuals that are injured on another’s property may have a premises liability claim against the landowner. New Jersey courts determine the duty of care of a landowner based on the totality of the circumstances. To determine if a landowner has a duty of care and is liable for the injury four factors are looked at: The...

Penalties for Driving without Auto Insurance in New Jersey (Statute 39:6B-2)

Penalties for Driving without Auto Insurance in New Jersey (Statute 39:6B-2)

The penalties under New Jersey law for driving without auto insurance are severe, approaching those levied for DUI convictions. The monetary fine can be set anywhere from $300 to $1000, there is a mandatory one year license suspension, and community service is ordered as determined by the court. This year-long suspension can seem particularly harsh, given the relative leniency of other states in this regard (Connecticut has a 6 month suspension, Pennsylvania has 3 months, and Massachusetts has only 60 days). The penalties for a second conviction include 14 days of imprisonment, a fine of up to $5000, and 2...

Penalties for Talking or Texting While Driving in New Jersey

Penalties for Talking or Texting While Driving in New Jersey

Today it is common to see more people using their smartphones while driving in New Jersey.  This trend has led to an increase in traffic accidents and an amplified effort by law enforcement to target people talking or texting while driving. Simultaneously, the New Jersey Legislature has proceeded recently to enact harsher penalties for violating these laws. With the threat of high fines and possible license suspensions, it is important that you are informed about what you can do to minimize legal ramifications if you or anyone you know becomes involved in a situation like this. Contact Corey Morano, Esq....

Searches Conducted Without A Warrant in New Jersey

The Fourth Amendment of the United States Constitution protects people from unreasonable searches and seizures. It requires that warrants must be based on probable cause and describe with particular specificity “the particular place to be searched, and the persons or things to be seized.” New Jersey has a similar provision in its constitution. Article 1, paragraph 7 of the New Jersey Constitution states   “The right of the people to be secure in their persons, houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be violated; and no warrant shall issue except upon probable cause, supported by oath...

New Jersey Pedestrian Crosswalk Laws: What You Need to Know a Ticket for Failure to Yield to Pedestrian

Most of us encounter crosswalks in New Jersey every day, whether we are behind the wheel or walking to our destination. Understanding the proper procedure to follow when approaching a crosswalk is highly important because confusion between the driver and the pedestrian can lead to injuries and legal repercussions resulting from an accident. A ticket for N.J.S. 39:4-36 can be a serious moving violation. Police departments all across New Jersey are showing an increased interest in cracking down on crosswalk violations. Both jaywalkers and drivers who fail to yield to pedestrians at a crosswalk are being targeted by law enforcement...

Understanding Your Rights as a Bicyclist in New Jersey

If you have been injured in a bicycle-motor vehicle collision and want to know your rights, please do not hesitate to call me, Corey Morano, Esq. for a free consultation at 201-598-5019 or email me at newjerseylawyernow@gmail.com right away! You may be well aware that bicyclists in New Jersey are required to keep to the right side of the road when using a roadway shared with motor vehicles. Riding single file as close to the right curb as you can safely allow for is the general rule that should be followed when taking your bicycle out for a spin. But...

Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident New Jersey 39:4-129 vs. Failure to Report an Accident NJ 39:4-130

Penalties for Leaving the Scene of an Accident New Jersey 39:4-129 vs. Failure to Report an Accident NJ 39:4-130

The penalties for NJSA 39:4-129, commonly referred to as “Leaving the Scene of an Accident” or a “hit and run” can be very serious in an New Jersey Court. This offense can lead to high fines, mandatory loss of license, points on your license and even incarceration. This potentially harsh treatment is the result of the basis of the offense is the same when, for instance, a parked car is hit vs. an actual person. Often this ticket is issued along with NJSA 39:4-130, commonly referred to as “Failure to Report an Accident.” This offense has its own set of...

Understanding Your Rights with a Drug Arrest. Conditional Discharge in NJ Section 36 (2C:36A-1).

Understanding Your Rights with a Drug Arrest. Conditional Discharge in NJ Section 36 (2C:36A-1).

If you are a first time offender in New Jersey you need to understand your rights. You may be eligible for what is called a “conditional discharge.” This is an excellent option for your lawyer to look into in your case. The statute may allow you to enter into a diversionary program specifically developed for first-time offenders in minor drug offenses. The court will hold your records while you enter into a probationary period. If you complete the program, pay the necessary fines your charges will be discharged by the court. Below is the entire statue, but if you are...

What is a Pre-Indictment Conference in New Jersey Criminal Court?

What is a Pre-Indictment Conference in New Jersey Criminal Court?

Have you or someone you know been arrested or charged with a crime and are scheduled for a pre-indictment conference in New Jersey Criminal Court?  For a free consultation please do not hesitate to call Corey P. Morano, Esq. at 201-598-5019 or email me at newjerseylawyernow@gmail.com. After and arrest on an indictable offense and sometimes before your first court appearance, the prosecutor’s office in each county determines whether to pursue a criminal complaint through a grand jury indictment. Prosecutors determine if cases have merit and sufficient evidence to pursue a conviction. In most counties, the prosecutor’s Case Screening Unit reviews...