What is a New Jersey DRE (Drug Recognition Expert)?
If you are charged with driving under the influence of drugs in New Jersey you most likely be evaluated for what your exact impairment is. A drug recognition expert or drug recognition expert (DRE) is a police officer trained to recognize impairment in drivers under the influence of drugs other than, or in addition to, alcohol. The International Association of Chiefs of Police (IACP) coordinates the International Drug Evaluation and Classification (DEC) Program with support from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) of the U.S. Department of Transportation. In addition to officers, who are certified as DREs, the DEC Program educates prosecutors and toxicologists on the DRE process and the drug categories.
A DRE is a 12-step process beginning with a breath test to determine your BAC (Blood Alcohol Concentration), following with an interview with the arresting officer as well as the accused, next will an eye exam and a series of psychophysical tests. During this process the DRE officer will determine any impairments. After vital signs being taken by the officer, there will be a sequence of physical exams, the Dark Room Exam which examines the pupil, a Muscle Tone exam and lastly, an Injection Site exam. Subsequently, a statement will be made by the DRE officer after the opinion of intoxication is made, your Miranda Rights will be said aloud to you and the officer will request a urine, blood, and saliva test.
Have you been charged with driving while under the influence of drugs?
Call a lawyer to fight your DRE test results! These results are not guaranteed to be used against you in New Jersey Court. If you are under suspicion of being under the influence of drugs, it is highly advised to have a lawyer like Corey Morano on your side to win your case!
You may be charged with a fine of $250-$500 on the first DWI offense, with a surcharge of $100. You may be held up to 30 days in jail, loss of license, and inclined to 12-48 hours of the IDRC (Intoxicated Driver Resource Center) program.
You may be charged with a fine of $500-$1,000 on the second DWI offense, with a surcharge of $100. You may be held up to 90 days in jail, loss of license for 1-2 years, and inclined to 12-48 hours of the IDRC (Intoxicated Driver Resource Center) program.
You may be charged with a fine of $1,000 on the third DWI offense, with a surcharge of $100. You may be held up to 180 days in jail, loss of license for 2-4 years, and inclined to 48 hours of the IDRC (Intoxicated Driver Resource Center) program.
It was reported by the National Survey of Drug Use and Health, about 28.6 million Americans participate in some sort of drug use, with the number of influenced drivers increasing, the DRE program was enforced in various police departments and agencies at local, state, and federal levels. Combining basic medical knowledge and, DRE officers determine whether a person is under the influence as well as by what category of drugs.
Here at The Morano Law Firm we often protect the legal rights of those who have been charged with DWI / DUI as well as other criminal matters. This type of offense carries the possibility of jail time and serious fines in New Jersey which can last for years, having a great effect on the accused. A determined legal defense can often persuade the courts to have your drunk driving charges dismissed or reduced so don’t risk your future by trying to defend yourself against a DUI, Let us win your case! Call 201-598-5019 to discuss your case today.