New Jersey Point System Unpacked
When you are found guilty of a traffic violation in New Jersey or enter a guilty plea, points are added to your driving record. Receiving too many points on your driving record can result in fees, increased insurance costs, and even the loss of your driving privileges.
How Many Points Can I Receive Until I Lose My New Jersey License?
- New Jersey MVC states if a person acquires 12 or more points on their license, driving privileges will be suspended.
- If you accumulate 6 points or more within 3 years, the New Jersey MVC will impose a surcharge of $150 plus point costs.
- The more points you accumulate on your license the higher the surcharges, insurance costs and fines become.
What Can I Do to Reduce My Points?
- If you complete one year with no violations, 3 points are removed off your driving record.
- If you If you complete a Defensive Driving Course online, 2 points are removed off your driving record.
What Happens If I Receive a Ticket Out of State?
- 2 points will be added to your driving records no matter the violation
What Happens If I Leave the Scene of an Accident?
- If there is no personal injury incurred – 2 Points will be added
- If there is a personal Injury incurred – 8 Points will be added
What Happens If I Race on the Highway?
- 5 Points will be added to your driving record.
Please refer to the New Jersey Point Schedule for further offense and points associated with each.
N.J.S.A. Section, Offense, and Points;
What Can I Do About my Accumulated Points?
If you are looking to discuss your case with an experienced and determined attorney, look no further. The Morano Law Firm is delighted to ease your worries as we are skilled and know our way through these types of cases. An experienced attorney can negotiate with municipal court prosecutors on the client’s behalf to have a traffic violation reduced. For a FREE Consultation contact 201-598-5019 or email [email protected] .